Midnight Oil

Rock band formed in Sydney, Australia, in 1972.
The Midnight Oil lineup remained quite stable over the band's long career: Peter Garrett as lead singer (and, early on, synthesizer), Jim (James) Moginie on guitar and keyboards, Martin Rotsey on guitar, and Rob (Robert) Hirst on drums. Andrew "Bear" James, the first bass player, left in 1979, replaced by Peter Gifford, who left in 1989 to be replaced by New Zealander Bones (Dwayne) Hillman,ex [a=The Swingers], who remained with the group until its dissolution in 2002. [a=Gary Morris (2)] was the band's manager and effective sixth member (often credited with the simple title "Business" on albums) throughout.