Small Faces

English rock band from East London, founded in 1965 by [a=Steve Marriott] (lead vocals, guitar), [a=Ronnie Lane] (bass guitar), [a=Kenny Jones] (drums), and [a=Jimmy Winston] (keyboards). By 1966 Winston was replaced by keyboardist [a=Ian McLagan].

Initially influenced by American rhythm & blues, the band is remembered as one of the most acclaimed and influential mod groups of the 1960s, with hit songs such as “Itchycoo Park”, “Lazy Sunday”, “All or Nothing”, “Tin Soldier”, and their concept album “Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake”. Eventually they evolved into one of the UK’s most successful psychedelic acts of the late 1960s before disbanding in early 1969 after Marriott’s departure. The three remaining members were joined by guitarist [a=Ron Wood] and lead vocalist [a=Rod Stewart], both from the [a=Jeff Beck Group], and the new line-up was renamed to [a=Faces (3)]. The original Small Faces reunited in 1975 and remained active with further line-up changes until 1978.